Virus Warning!
******************* Warning!
posted 04/28/04 ******************* Someone is sending out viruses and attempting to make it look like it is coming from legitimate locations, including Quidnunc (others include Comcast, University of Washington, US Air Force and Rocksport!).
The first and most important thing We do not send attachments!
If you receive any email from (anyone)@quidnunc.net that has a file attachment, delete it.
I have seen two messages so far.
One advises you that our server has detected viruses being sent from your mailbox. It then instructs you to click on the attachment to use our free anti-virus tool. They even provide a "password" and include a link to our website to make it look more legitimate.
The other says that our mail server will be down for two days and to click on the attachment to enable a mail-forwarding tool.
Return addresses for the above were noreply@quidnunc.net and staff@quidnunc.net (neither of which exist on our server).
Similar emails have appeared from comcast.net, u.washington.edu and even usafa.af.mil (US Air Force)
******************* Again-we do not mail unsolicited attachments! Never!!
******************* If you are a Quidnunc Internet customer, we do have a free antivirus tool and it is to prevent viruses from coming to you, not to prevent you from sending them. It will trap the virus being sent by these bogus messages. You will find it on our server at www.quidnunc.net. Point to "Internet" and click on "Spam Filter".
|